4 NeuPass Tiers Introduced by TataNeu - Explorer, Insider, Elite, Legend

As many of you may have noticed in the Neu app (under the NeuPass section), a new tier-based update is coming for Neu account members.
(This isn’t entirely new—it was initially rolled out to select users last year before being recalled.)

Clarification on the Highest Tier (Legend)​

From various discussions on TF, I had understood that the highest tier, Legend, would be automatically granted to Neu Card Infinity holders. However, that’s not the case.
I just spoke with Neu customer care, and they confirmed:
"Yes, that tier was offered to Neu Card holders last year, but that won’t be the case now. It will be entirely spend-based. While the Neu Card will continue to offer its original 5% cashback, all NeuPass members—regardless of whether they have the card—will need to meet the spending criteria for different tiers over the past 365 days."

The Legend tier will not be automatically assigned to Neu Card Infinity holders.​

• Tier eligibility will be purely based on spending over the past 365 days.
  • Neu Card holders will still receive the 5% cashback benefit.
  • All NeuPass members, cardholders or not, must meet spending criteria to qualify for different tiers.
Apologies if this is already public knowledge—just wanted to share! 😊

As many of you may have noticed in the Neu app (under the NeuPass section), a new tier-based update is coming for Neu account members.
(This isn’t entirely new—it was initially rolled out to select users last year before being recalled.)

Clarification on the Highest Tier (Legend)​

From various discussions on TF, I had understood that the highest tier, Legend, would be automatically granted to Neu Card Infinity holders. However, that’s not the case.
I just spoke with Neu customer care, and they confirmed:

The Legend tier will not be automatically assigned to Neu Card Infinity holders.​

• Tier eligibility will be purely based on spending over the past 365 days.
  • Neu Card holders will still receive the 5% cashback benefit.
  • All NeuPass members, cardholders or not, must meet spending criteria to qualify for different tiers.
Apologies if this is already public knowledge—just wanted to share! 😊
This will be soon known as new headache card

This is how it seems to be building up.
Neu infinity card will keep giving 5%. but the additional neucoins one earns from the app will be based on the spend criteria. It would still make sense if the tier is fixed annually. Otherwise, it defeats the whole utility of the card, at least for me.

looking at 5 orders and 40000 Rs milestone, it can be monthly or quarterly (even this works) unless they have just kept the milestone annually to make sure that card owners keep using it.

This card was a replacement for standard chartered ultimate/ Titanium super value combo for me. If this happens, this will be the second crappy credit card from HDFC in my portfolio. I will revert back to Standard chartered cards (the supervalue gives cashback, atleast.)

PS: If they provide tier matching for Maharaja club (red,silver, gold, platinum) and IHCL (copper, silver, gold, platinum), things may become interesting.

10% discount on Tata Neu Bigbasket. So, total return is 15%. 5% from Neuapp and 10% from HSBC.

We can also reload bigbasket wallet with HSBC. And very rarely, when Bigbasket has some discount offer not associated with bank, we may get additional discount.
Actually, of late, rather since Nov'24, HDFC has not been posting the 10% upfront discount code for HDFC Neu cards for big basket spends over 1500. With this, returns were 20% flat. Now all other cards / bank offers are there with codes, but not hdfc code. This itself is a silent devaluation of the Neu Card for Neu card holders.
This time in Feb'25, they are offering 150 coins on min spend of 2k, which earlier was 200 coins on min spend of 2k. So here also another devaluation.

This offer varies from account to account (similar to how Amazon works, & nowadays, Flipkart as well). I manage 4-5 different Tata Neu accounts in my family & each one gets a different offer every month. The ones I use regularly get 200 on 2000 or 100 on 1000, & the non-regularly used ones get 100 on 600 or 250 on 2000.

This is how it seems to be building up.
Neu infinity card will keep giving 5%. but the additional neucoins one earns from the app will be based on the spend criteria. It would still make sense if the tier is fixed annually. Otherwise, it defeats the whole utility of the card, at least for me.

looking at 5 orders and 40000 Rs milestone, it can be monthly or quarterly (even this works) unless they have just kept the milestone annually to make sure that card owners keep using it.

This card was a replacement for standard chartered ultimate/ Titanium super value combo for me. If this happens, this will be the second crappy credit card from HDFC in my portfolio. I will revert back to Standard chartered cards (the supervalue gives cashback, atleast.)

PS: If they provide tier matching for Maharaja club (red,silver, gold, platinum) and IHCL (copper, silver, gold, platinum), things may become interesting.
supervalue seems very lucrative but if its not LTF, the card gives way lower rewards.

And them match tier status with AI and IHCL is doubtful
maybe at elite/legend they may provide silver on airline/hotel programs but its highly doubtful

This offer varies from account to account (similar to how Amazon works, & nowadays, Flipkart as well). I manage 4-5 different Tata Neu accounts in my family & each one gets a different offer every month. The ones I use regularly get 200 on 2000 or 100 on 1000, & the non-regularly used ones get 100 on 600 or 250 on 2000.
This is interesting..
What are you spends on the accounts where you get upfront 10% coins?

This is interesting..
What are you spends on the accounts where you get upfront 10% coins?
Less than 5k a month. I usually divide my spends across multiple accounts so that each account is used minimally. Doing this ensures that I keep getting decent offers on every account.

Mine is a little lower than this per month, say 4k-4.5k on big basket. so what makes them give me less than 10% coins?

Just closed my FYF Infinity card yesterday instead of waiting till June as didnt want to get the headache of remembering till June

Anyways its useless for me and I dont care for ther 1.5-2% for my 1-2k per month upi spend...aajkal hotel wala bhi 50 rupees se kam tip nahi mangta bangalore mein 😛

Nonetheless will probably take the LTF version in Dec'25 now 😛 just to keep it

Mine is a little lower than this per month, say 4k-4.5k on big basket. so what makes them give me less than 10% coins?
5k was the highest I've ever spent using a single account on BB in a month. I mostly keep that no. as close to 2k as possible. I shuffle between all my account such that each account gets a minimum of 1 month break (no orders that month) every now and then.

Note - If you're going to use multiple accounts, just make sure to use seperate device for each account. Bigbasket will block your account permanently if they detect multiple logins from the same device.